Women & Gender Studies

Contemporary Women's Issues Gale One File
Provides access to current full text and pertinent backfile content covering topics including civil rights, health, education, professional development, and entrepreneurship.

Gender Studies Collection
This resource offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues.

Independent Voices (JSTOR)
This source is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.

Student Activism (JSTOR Open Access)
The Student Activism collection is intended to serve as a scholarly bridge from the extensive history of student protest in the United States to the study of today's vibrant, continually unfolding actions. The collection captures the voices of students across the great range of protest, political actions, and equal-rights advocacy from the 20th and early 21st century United States. The primary sources are broad-based across time, geography, and political viewpoint — from conservative to anarchist.

Bibliographies in Gender and Women’s Studies

The Office of the Gender and Women’s Studies Librarian-Univ. of WI-Madison has curated this series of bibliographies. The first 37 bibliographies spanned from 1977 through 1984; the second set of 43 bibliographies were created between 1985 and 2000. All of the bibliographies were numbered and are listed below in reverse order. When available electronically, the bibliographies are linked.

Center for Research on Women-University of Memphis
The mission of the Center for Research on Women (CROW) at the University of Memphis is to conduct, promote, and disseminate scholarship on women and social inequality.

Human Computers: The Early Women of NASA
These ground-breaking female mathematicians, engineers and scientists produced calculations crucial to the success of NASA's early space missions.

International Labour Organization (ILO)
The ILO brings together governments, employers and workers of 187 member States, to set labour standards, develop policies and devise programs promoting decent work for all women and men.

Poetry of Maya Angelou
Maya Angelou was an author, actor, dancer, poet, producer, director, playwright, professor, and civil rights activist considered one of the most influential voices of her time. She is widely known for her autobiographical works and poetry. (DPLA)

The Williams Institute
This site is a think tank that conducts and provides research on issues of sexual orientation and gender identity related to public policy. The institute’s website provides access to rigorous research under 13 broad categories, topics include census data as it relates to the LGBT+ community, military and education issues, discrimination, and more. The research goes back nearly two decades up to the present.

The World's Abortion Laws
The definitive record of the legal status of abortion in countries across the globe, updated in real time.

Women in Science
Digital Public Library of America

Women's Sports Foundation
A long-standing organization dedicated to advancing the "lives of girls and women through sports and physical activity," the Women's Sports Foundation focuses on issues such as equality, discrimination, Title IX, mind and body as it relates to women's sports, participation, and other important issues realated to coaches and parents.

Women's Studies Subject Directory
This is an open access portal of information by and about women and girls. The goal of the project is to provide users with trusted information that is easily and efficiently accessible and that which can be used in the education and empowerment of women and girls worldwide.

Women’s Studies (WKDL)
Women's Knowledge Digital Library (WKDL) is an online repository of information by and about women and girls. The goal of the project is to provide users with trusted information that is easily and efficiently accessible and that which can be used in the education and empowerment of women and girls worldwide. Our focus is to amplify women's voices and include resources that women can learn from and adapt to suit the work being done within their own communities.