Current Issues

Contemporary Issues in Credo
Content specifically related to Contemporary Issues.

Exploring Race in Society
This research database offers essential content covering important issues related to race in society today. Essays, articles, reports and other reliable sources provide an in-depth look at the history of race.

Global issues-Gale in context
This resource ties together a wealth of authoritative content to analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world. 

Gun Regulation and Legislation in America
This resource brings together essential periodicals, compiled legislative histories, CRS reports, Congressional hearings, United States Supreme Court briefs, monographs, and other related materials on the difficult and controversial topic of regulating firearms in the United States.

Newspaper Source
This resource provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided

Opposing Viewpoints-Gale in Context
This resource delivers a range of perspectives on important issues. Users find a remarkable compilation of proven reference content integrated with the best multimedia available today. Informed, differing views are presented on many current topics.

Statista
Statista provides users with immediate access to over one million statistics and facts ready to use in PPT, XLS and PNG.  It detects trends in 600 industries and is a tool for researching quantitative data, statistics and related information.

CDC Centers for Disease, Control and Prevention
CDC is the nation’s leading science-based, data-driven, service organization that protects the public’s health. 

Civil Rights Movement
Digital Public Library of America

Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports
Documents prepared by the Congressional Research Service (CRS), which serves as nonpartisan shared staff to congressional committees and Members of Congress.

Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention
OJJDP sponsors research, program, and training initiatives; develops priorities and goals and sets policies to guide federal juvenile justice issues; and disseminates information about juvenile justice issues. 

 

Pro/Con.org
"Promotes critical thinking, education, and informed citizenship by presenting controversial issues in a straightforward, nonpartisan, primarily pro-con format."

Scowcroft Documentary Series on Military History
A series of short documentary films designed to address timely, complex, or controversial topics in open-ended ways.  This series relates to Military historical topics ex. Don't Ask, Don't Tell"

The Crime Report
Nonprofit resource based at John Jay College of Criminal Justice . Published daily online, M-F,

The Williams Institute
This site is a think tank that conducts and provides research on issues of sexual orientation and gender identity related to public policy. The institute’s website provides access to rigorous research under 13 broad categories, topics include census data as it relates to the LGBT+ community, military and education issues, discrimination, and more. The research goes back nearly two decades up to the present.

UNESCO Institute for Lifelong Learning (UIL)
UNESCO Institute for Lifelong Learning (UIL), is the only organizational unit in the UN family that holds a global mandate for lifelong learning.  UIL promotes and supports lifelong learning with a focus on adult learning, continuing education, literacy and non-formal basic education.

WorldWide Current Events