What are Library Databases?
Library databases
- are paid for by the library. Students, faculty, and staff have access to them while affiliated with the College.
- require your Reeves Library username and password for access from home or any device not owned by Westminster.
- are available online, 24/7.
- provide access to journal, magazine and newspaper articles.
- provide access to audio visual resources: pictures, videos, tutorials.
- are subject specific.
- search many sources at the same time.
- are a source of reliable information.
How library databases differ from Google and the free Web
- Reviewed: experts on a subject peer-review the content or editors review the articles
- Content specific: find a database specific to your area of research and cut out the resources you don't need
- Timeline: access to current and older information
Keys to Good Searching
A key to getting good search results is to use common search techniques that you can apply to almost any database, including article databases, online library catalogs and even commercial search engines.
When you don't get the results you expect, ask for help. We love to help you find what you need. You can also look for the Help or ? icons in individual databases.
A-Z List of Online Resources
Search all Resources with Discovery
Search Credo for Reference Books
Subject / Content Guides-A-Z
Additional Guides
Additional Topics of Interest
Westminster College
Contact Us
Off campus?
Choose your database,
Sign in with your library account!
Name and student ID + wc;
(example John Doe 392786wc)
Search all Resources with Discovery
Search Credo for Reference Books
Subject / Content Guides-A-Z
Additional Guides
Additional Topics of Interest
Westminster College
Contact Us
chat loading...
or text (877) 355-4542Off campus?
Choose your database,
Sign in with your library account!
Name and student ID + wc;
(example John Doe 392786wc)