Mason OER Metafinder (MOM)
Table of Contents
-Open Educational Resources (OER) in the Discipline of Mathematics
-Mobius OER
-Websites for OER Texbooks and Resources
Lib Guide from Kentucky Christian University
-More Information
Open Educational Resources (OER) in the Discipline of Mathematics (July 2018)
https://ala-choice.libguides.com/c.php?g=841661&p=6013970This Libguide is a good overall source of information on Open Educational Resources not just Mathematics.
MOBIUS OER
Each MOBIUS member is able to have its own group associated with the MOBIUS Hub. Groups are free to create and provide "a flexible environment to organize, create, share, and discuss resources with others in your network. Collaborate with group members, tag and add resources to shared folders, create your own collections."
To get an idea of what the MOBIUS hub will look like, please check out Michigan Colleges Online - (https://www.oercommons.org/hubs/mco). You can see all of the groups associated by scrolling down.
If you would like a group created for your library, please provide me with the following information:
1. Group Title
2. Group Admin: Name and Email Address
3. Logo: Image dimensions: 170x170px with white space (padding) of 10px on each size
Each MOBIUS member is able to have its own group associated with the MOBIUS Hub. Groups are free to create and provide "a flexible environment to organize, create, share, and discuss resources with others in your network. Collaborate with group members, tag and add resources to shared folders, create your own collections."
To get an idea of what the MOBIUS hub will look like, please check out Michigan Colleges Online - (https://www.oercommons.org/hubs/mco). You can see all of the groups associated by scrolling down.
If you would like a group created for your library, please provide me with the following information:
1. Group Title
2. Group Admin: Name and Email Address
3. Logo: Image dimensions: 170x170px with white space (padding) of 10px on each size
1300 Free Online Courses from Top Universities
Get 1,300 free online courses from the world's leading universities -- Stanford, Yale, MIT, Harvard, Berkeley, Oxford and more. Download these audio & video courses (often from iTunes, YouTube, or university web sites) straight to the computer or mp3 player. Over 45,000 hours of free audio & video lectures.
Get 1,300 free online courses from the world's leading universities -- Stanford, Yale, MIT, Harvard, Berkeley, Oxford and more. Download these audio & video courses (often from iTunes, YouTube, or university web sites) straight to the computer or mp3 player. Over 45,000 hours of free audio & video lectures.
3-D Printing Course (Open Source)
An undergraduate/graduate engineering course originally developed and taught by Dr. Joshua M. Pearce, to teach students everything they need to know about open source 3-D printing in the RepRap tradition. The course is built around a selection of progressively more challenging exercises use to teach students OpenSCAD, FreeCAD and Blender so they can solve just about any 3-D printing design challenges.
A First Course in Linear Algebra
An introductory textbook designed for university sophomores and juniors. Typically such a student will have taken calculus, but this is not a prerequisite. The book begins with systems of linear equations, then covers matrix algebra, before taking up finite-dimensional vector spaces in full generality. The final chapter covers matrix representations of linear transformations, through diagonalization, change of basis and Jordan canonical form. There is a comprehensive online edition and PDF versions available to download for printing or on-screen viewing.
An introductory textbook designed for university sophomores and juniors. Typically such a student will have taken calculus, but this is not a prerequisite. The book begins with systems of linear equations, then covers matrix algebra, before taking up finite-dimensional vector spaces in full generality. The final chapter covers matrix representations of linear transformations, through diagonalization, change of basis and Jordan canonical form. There is a comprehensive online edition and PDF versions available to download for printing or on-screen viewing.
Abstract Algebra: Theory and Applications
An open source textbook designed to teach the principles and theory of abstract algebra to college juniors and seniors in a rigorous manner. Its strengths include a wide range of exercises, both computational and theoretical, plus many nontrivial applications.
An open source textbook designed to teach the principles and theory of abstract algebra to college juniors and seniors in a rigorous manner. Its strengths include a wide range of exercises, both computational and theoretical, plus many nontrivial applications.
An Introduction to Computer Networks (OER)
An Introduction to Computer Networksis a free and open general-purpose computer-networking textbook, complete with diagrams and exercises.It covers the LAN, internetworking and transport layers, focusing primarily on TCP/IP. Particular attention is paid to congestion; other special topics include queuing, real-time traffic, network management, security and the ns simulator.
An Introduction to Computer Networksis a free and open general-purpose computer-networking textbook, complete with diagrams and exercises.It covers the LAN, internetworking and transport layers, focusing primarily on TCP/IP. Particular attention is paid to congestion; other special topics include queuing, real-time traffic, network management, security and the ns simulator.
Anatomy and Physiology LibreTexts
Open-access texts to improve postsecondary education at all levels of higher learning.
Open-access texts to improve postsecondary education at all levels of higher learning.
Computer Textbooks (OER) by Allen Downey
Green Tea Press, publisher of Think Python, Think Bayes, Think Java, Think Stats,Think Data Structures, and other books by Allen Downey.
Green Tea Press, publisher of Think Python, Think Bayes, Think Java, Think Stats,Think Data Structures, and other books by Allen Downey.
Database Design - 2nd Edition (OER)
This second edition of Database Design book covers the concepts used in database systems and the database design process.
This second edition of Database Design book covers the concepts used in database systems and the database design process.
Foundations of Computation (OER)
Foundations of Computation is a free textbook for a one-semester course in theoretical computer science. It has been used for several years in a course at Hobart and William Smith Colleges. The course has no prerequisites other than introductory computer programming.
Foundations of Computation is a free textbook for a one-semester course in theoretical computer science. It has been used for several years in a course at Hobart and William Smith Colleges. The course has no prerequisites other than introductory computer programming.
Information Systems for Business and Beyond (OER)
A look at the technology, people, and processes of information systems.
A look at the technology, people, and processes of information systems.
Internet Archive’s library of Open Educational Resources
Internet Archive’s library of Open Educational Resources and university lectures. This library contains hundreds of free courses, video lectures, and supplemental materials from universities in the United States and China. Many of these lectures are available for download.
Materials within the Open Educational Resources Archive are licensed according to each author's wishes. Please see specific collections or items for licensing information.
Internet Archive’s library of Open Educational Resources and university lectures. This library contains hundreds of free courses, video lectures, and supplemental materials from universities in the United States and China. Many of these lectures are available for download.
Materials within the Open Educational Resources Archive are licensed according to each author's wishes. Please see specific collections or items for licensing information.
Language Resource Centers (LRC)
Sixteen LRCs, create a national network of resources to promote and improve the teaching and learning of foreign languages.
LRCs create language learning and teaching materials, offer professional development opportunities for language instructors, and conduct and disseminate research on foreign language learning.
Sixteen LRCs, create a national network of resources to promote and improve the teaching and learning of foreign languages.
LRCs create language learning and teaching materials, offer professional development opportunities for language instructors, and conduct and disseminate research on foreign language learning.
LibreTexts Library (OER)
LibreTexts approach is highly collaborative where an Open Access textbook environment is under constant revision by students, faculty, and outside experts to supplant conventional paper-based books.
LibreTexts approach is highly collaborative where an Open Access textbook environment is under constant revision by students, faculty, and outside experts to supplant conventional paper-based books.
MERLOT Collection of Resources (OER)
The MERLOT (Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching) system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.
note: Choose "Open (Access) Textbook" under resources to access textbooks.
The MERLOT (Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching) system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.
note: Choose "Open (Access) Textbook" under resources to access textbooks.
Michigan Colleges Online (OER)
Institutions creating, sharing, and collaborating on high-quality OER for use in today's classrooms.
Institutions creating, sharing, and collaborating on high-quality OER for use in today's classrooms.
MIT Open Courseware (OER)
MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) is a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity.
MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) is a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity.
My Open Math Textbook and Interactive Homework (OER)
An open textbook with an online, interactive homework platform for mathematics powered by the Internet Mathematics Assessment System.
An open textbook with an online, interactive homework platform for mathematics powered by the Internet Mathematics Assessment System.
O'Reilly Open Books (OER)
O'Reilly has published a number of Open Books--books with various forms of "open" copyright--over the years. The reasons for "opening" copyright, as well as the specific license agreements under which they are opened, are as varied as our authors.
O'Reilly has published a number of Open Books--books with various forms of "open" copyright--over the years. The reasons for "opening" copyright, as well as the specific license agreements under which they are opened, are as varied as our authors.
OER and Copyright Professional Development Material
Information for creating and licensing OER materials.
Information for creating and licensing OER materials.
OER Commons
OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources. Explore, create, and collaborate with educators around the world to improve curriculum
OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources. Explore, create, and collaborate with educators around the world to improve curriculum
On-Line Biology Book
The text items are modified lecture outlines I have developed over the many years of teaching college-level introductory biology. Use of my text for educational purposes is encouraged and appreciated, however many illustrations are taken off the web, and I have indicated the source page (when that page still is an active link) and tried to provide a link back to the original.
The text items are modified lecture outlines I have developed over the many years of teaching college-level introductory biology. Use of my text for educational purposes is encouraged and appreciated, however many illustrations are taken off the web, and I have indicated the source page (when that page still is an active link) and tried to provide a link back to the original.
Open Author 
New tool for authoring OER (Open Educational Resources)
New tool for authoring OER (Open Educational Resources)
The program features:
- A what-you-see-is-what-you-get editor with an accessibility checker, copy and paste from Word and Excel, and a straightforward math editor;
- Tools for including images, with alt text and captions;
- Download options for PDF, EPUB3, SCORM and Thin Common Cartridge files;
- Import from Google and Microsoft OneDrive; and
- The ability to include a co-author.
Open Educational Resources-Austin Community College
This guide is designed to assist faculty in the exploration, identification, evaluation, selection, and adoption of Open Educational Resources
This guide is designed to assist faculty in the exploration, identification, evaluation, selection, and adoption of Open Educational Resources
Open Textbook Initiative (American Institute of Mathematics)
The Open Textbook Initiative’s home page states that “the AIM Editorial Board has developed evaluation criteria to identify the books that are suitable for use in traditional university courses. The Editorial Board maintains a list of Approved Textbooks which have been judged to meet these criteria.
The Open Textbook Initiative’s home page states that “the AIM Editorial Board has developed evaluation criteria to identify the books that are suitable for use in traditional university courses. The Editorial Board maintains a list of Approved Textbooks which have been judged to meet these criteria.
Open UBC (Collection of resources including OER textbooks)
Open UBC is a curated collection of resources for faculty and students to learn about the why, what and how of open education practices. There is also a search engine for OER textbooks.
Open UBC is a curated collection of resources for faculty and students to learn about the why, what and how of open education practices. There is also a search engine for OER textbooks.
OpenStax
“OpenStax produces and distributes openly licensed textbooks . The goal of the site is to provide textbooks for introductory college courses. It is based at Rice University. Textbooks are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 License, except for the Calculus series, which is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike license.
“OpenStax produces and distributes openly licensed textbooks . The goal of the site is to provide textbooks for introductory college courses. It is based at Rice University. Textbooks are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 License, except for the Calculus series, which is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike license.
OpenStax Textbooks
Publish high-quality, peer-reviewed, openly licensed college textbooks that are absolutely free online and low cost in print. These have been written by a team of content experts, have been peer-reviewed and proofed, and are designed for standard college curricula. Rice University
Publish high-quality, peer-reviewed, openly licensed college textbooks that are absolutely free online and low cost in print. These have been written by a team of content experts, have been peer-reviewed and proofed, and are designed for standard college curricula. Rice University
Operating Systems and Middleware: Supporting Controlled Interaction
Original Author has retired but archived in GitHub.
Original Author has retired but archived in GitHub.
PreTeXt
PreTeXt aids authors in the creation of mathematical OER textbooks. An uncomplicated XML vocabulary for authors of research articles, textbooks, and monographs.
PreTeXt aids authors in the creation of mathematical OER textbooks. An uncomplicated XML vocabulary for authors of research articles, textbooks, and monographs.
Primary sources for History
This is a topical list of high-quality U.S. History websites focused on primary source collections from government agencies, universities, museums, libraries, and historical organizations.
This is a topical list of high-quality U.S. History websites focused on primary source collections from government agencies, universities, museums, libraries, and historical organizations.
Psych Web
It contains career advice for psychology majors, a review of psychology and religion as an academic discipline, and a full-length, free introductory psychology textbook.
It contains career advice for psychology majors, a review of psychology and religion as an academic discipline, and a full-length, free introductory psychology textbook.
SageMath software
A free open-source mathematics software system licensed under the GPL.
A free open-source mathematics software system licensed under the GPL.
Mission: Creating a viable free open source alternative to Magma, Maple, Mathematica and Matlab.
A-Z List of Online Resources
Search all Resources with Discovery
Search Credo for Reference Books
Subject / Content Guides-A-Z
Additional Guides
Additional Topics of Interest
Westminster College
Contact Us
Off campus?
Choose your database,
Sign in with your library account!
Name and student ID + wc;
(example John Doe 392786wc)
Search all Resources with Discovery
Search Credo for Reference Books
Subject / Content Guides-A-Z
Additional Guides
Additional Topics of Interest
Westminster College
Contact Us
chat loading...
or text (877) 355-4542Off campus?
Choose your database,
Sign in with your library account!
Name and student ID + wc;
(example John Doe 392786wc)