Academic Search Ultimate 
This resource spans a broad range of academic subjects with thousands of full-text journals as well as abstracted and indexed journals.
This resource spans a broad range of academic subjects with thousands of full-text journals as well as abstracted and indexed journals.
American Prison Newspapers, 1800-2020 (Open Access)
American Prison Newspapers brings together hundreds of newspapers published within prisons by incarcerated people over the past 200 years. When complete, the collection will contain newspapers from prisons in every state, representing penal institutions of all kinds, including women-only institutions.
American Prison Newspapers brings together hundreds of newspapers published within prisons by incarcerated people over the past 200 years. When complete, the collection will contain newspapers from prisons in every state, representing penal institutions of all kinds, including women-only institutions.
Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century
Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century provids opportunities for research into issues and events in contemporary Latin American and Caribbean history, as well as historical perspective back to the colonial period.
note: Mobile apps
Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century provids opportunities for research into issues and events in contemporary Latin American and Caribbean history, as well as historical perspective back to the colonial period.
note: Mobile apps
Churchill Archives
Churchill Archive is a digital library of modern international history. It includes more than 800,000 pages of original documents, produced between 1874 and 1965, ranging from Winston S. Churchill’s personal correspondence to his official exchanges with kings, presidents, politicians, and military leaders. This is more than a fantastic collection of primary source material; it is a unique online resource offering new insight into a fascinating period of our past.
Churchill Archive is a digital library of modern international history. It includes more than 800,000 pages of original documents, produced between 1874 and 1965, ranging from Winston S. Churchill’s personal correspondence to his official exchanges with kings, presidents, politicians, and military leaders. This is more than a fantastic collection of primary source material; it is a unique online resource offering new insight into a fascinating period of our past.
College-Gale In Context 
This resource offers an authoritative selection of overviews, primary sources, videos, images, and more.
This resource offers an authoritative selection of overviews, primary sources, videos, images, and more.
Contemporary Women's Issues Gale One File
Provides access to current full text and pertinent backfile content covering topics including civil rights, health, education, professional development, and entrepreneurship.
Provides access to current full text and pertinent backfile content covering topics including civil rights, health, education, professional development, and entrepreneurship.
eBook MOBIUS Collection (eMO)
This resource contains a large selection of titles across a wide variety of subject areas. Search by subject or keyword.
This resource contains a large selection of titles across a wide variety of subject areas. Search by subject or keyword.
Exploring Race in Society
This research database offers essential content covering important issues related to race in society today. Essays, articles, reports and other reliable sources provide an in-depth look at the history of race.
This research database offers essential content covering important issues related to race in society today. Essays, articles, reports and other reliable sources provide an in-depth look at the history of race.
HeinOnline Military and Government
With this new database, users can explore thousands of diverse publications related to the history, glory, and nitty-gritty of the U.S. Military.
With this new database, users can explore thousands of diverse publications related to the history, glory, and nitty-gritty of the U.S. Military.
HeritageQuest
This is a comprehensive database of American genealogical sources—rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. It delivers an essential collection of genealogical and historical sources—with coverage dating back to the 1700s.
This is a comprehensive database of American genealogical sources—rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. It delivers an essential collection of genealogical and historical sources—with coverage dating back to the 1700s.
Independent Voices (JSTOR)
This source is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
This source is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
John F. Kennedy Assassination Collection (HeinOnline)
This database contains the National Archives and Records Administration's complete collection of records on President John F. Kennedy's assassination in HeinOnline's fully searchable, user-friendly format. Also included are books, hearings, other related works, and scholarly articles on this topic.
This database contains the National Archives and Records Administration's complete collection of records on President John F. Kennedy's assassination in HeinOnline's fully searchable, user-friendly format. Also included are books, hearings, other related works, and scholarly articles on this topic.
JSTOR Arts & Sciences I
Arts and Sciences I includes 119 core titles in twenty-one disciplines such as ecology, economics, history, mathematics, political science, and sociology, statistics.
note:
Arts and Sciences I includes 119 core titles in twenty-one disciplines such as ecology, economics, history, mathematics, political science, and sociology, statistics.
note:
MyJSTOR accounts allow you to read up to six articles a month online for free (not subscribed to by the college) and save your citations to My Workspace.
JSTOR Arts & Sciences II
Arts and Sciences II includes 127 core titles in several new disciplines, such as archaeology, classics, and African, Latin American, Middle Eastern, and Slavic studies.
note:
Arts and Sciences II includes 127 core titles in several new disciplines, such as archaeology, classics, and African, Latin American, Middle Eastern, and Slavic studies.
note:
MyJSTOR accounts allow you to read up to six articles a month online for free (not subscribed to by the college) and save your citations to My Workspace.
Pop Culture Studies
This resource provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture. The database offers useful information for researchers in social science, history, art or liberal arts courses.
This resource provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture. The database offers useful information for researchers in social science, history, art or liberal arts courses.
Religion and Philosophy Collection
This resource includes more than 200 magazines and academic journals covering religion and the related areas of philosophy and anthropology. Useful for studying theological approaches to social issues, and also learning about the impact that religion has had on culture throughout history, including literature, arts, and language.
This resource includes more than 200 magazines and academic journals covering religion and the related areas of philosophy and anthropology. Useful for studying theological approaches to social issues, and also learning about the impact that religion has had on culture throughout history, including literature, arts, and language.
Slavery in America and the World
This HeinOnline collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery.
This HeinOnline collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery.
Slavery in America-US Sources in History 
This resource is a digital collection of over 600 documents containing 75,000 pages that document key aspects of the history of slavery in America from its origins in Africa to its abolition. It covers topics such as the slave trade, plantation life, emancipation, pro-slavery and anti-slavery arguments, religious views on slavery, etc. Documents include personal narratives, pamphlets, addresses, political speeches, monographs, sermons, plays, songs, poetic and fictional works published between the 17th and late 19th centuries.
This resource is a digital collection of over 600 documents containing 75,000 pages that document key aspects of the history of slavery in America from its origins in Africa to its abolition. It covers topics such as the slave trade, plantation life, emancipation, pro-slavery and anti-slavery arguments, religious views on slavery, etc. Documents include personal narratives, pamphlets, addresses, political speeches, monographs, sermons, plays, songs, poetic and fictional works published between the 17th and late 19th centuries.
Student Activism (JSTOR Open Access)
The Student Activism collection is intended to serve as a scholarly bridge from the extensive history of student protest in the United States to the study of today's vibrant, continually unfolding actions. The collection captures the voices of students across the great range of protest, political actions, and equal-rights advocacy from the 20th and early 21st century United States. The primary sources are broad-based across time, geography, and political viewpoint — from conservative to anarchist.
The Student Activism collection is intended to serve as a scholarly bridge from the extensive history of student protest in the United States to the study of today's vibrant, continually unfolding actions. The collection captures the voices of students across the great range of protest, political actions, and equal-rights advocacy from the 20th and early 21st century United States. The primary sources are broad-based across time, geography, and political viewpoint — from conservative to anarchist.
U.S History In Context
This resource offers primary and secondary history sources combined with the media-rich selections. that today's users demand. A Web-like interface and intuitive functionality lead to a comprehensive selection of multimedia results.
This resource offers primary and secondary history sources combined with the media-rich selections. that today's users demand. A Web-like interface and intuitive functionality lead to a comprehensive selection of multimedia results.
US History-Gale ONEFILE
This resource provides full-text, balanced coverage of both current thoughts on events in U.S. history as well as scholarly work established in the field.
This resource provides full-text, balanced coverage of both current thoughts on events in U.S. history as well as scholarly work established in the field.
War & Terrorism Collection
This resource contains more than 1.7 million articles offering valuable insight into conflicts and their causes, impact, and perception on a global scale. This collection is comprised of more than 200 subject-appropriate, full-text periodicals that are updated daily.
This resource contains more than 1.7 million articles offering valuable insight into conflicts and their causes, impact, and perception on a global scale. This collection is comprised of more than 200 subject-appropriate, full-text periodicals that are updated daily.
World History-Gale in Context
This resource combines outstanding primary and secondary historical sources with great multimedia. It reaches back nearly 5,000 years to chronicle the rise and fall of cultures and societies across all continents and eras. A Web-like interface and intuitive functionality lead to a comprehensive selection of multimedia results.
This resource combines outstanding primary and secondary historical sources with great multimedia. It reaches back nearly 5,000 years to chronicle the rise and fall of cultures and societies across all continents and eras. A Web-like interface and intuitive functionality lead to a comprehensive selection of multimedia results.
World History-Gale One File
This resource offers balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work being established in the field.
This resource offers balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work being established in the field.
Atomic Homefront Video (Docuseek)
ATOMIC HOMEFRONT shines an urgent and devastating light on the lasting toxic effects that nuclear waste can have on communities. The film reveals St. Louis, Missouri's past as a uranium processing center for the atomic bomb.
note: 96 minutes
ATOMIC HOMEFRONT shines an urgent and devastating light on the lasting toxic effects that nuclear waste can have on communities. The film reveals St. Louis, Missouri's past as a uranium processing center for the atomic bomb.
note: 96 minutes
1300 Free Online Courses from Top Universities
Get 1,300 free online courses from the world's leading universities -- Stanford, Yale, MIT, Harvard, Berkeley, Oxford and more. Download these audio & video courses (often from iTunes, YouTube, or university web sites) straight to the computer or mp3 player. Over 45,000 hours of free audio & video lectures.
Get 1,300 free online courses from the world's leading universities -- Stanford, Yale, MIT, Harvard, Berkeley, Oxford and more. Download these audio & video courses (often from iTunes, YouTube, or university web sites) straight to the computer or mp3 player. Over 45,000 hours of free audio & video lectures.
19th-Century American Sheet Music
The Nineteenth Century American Sheet Music Collection at the UNC-Chapel Hill Music Library includes approximately 3,500 popular vocal and instrumental titles from the 1830s to the end of the century.
The Nineteenth Century American Sheet Music Collection at the UNC-Chapel Hill Music Library includes approximately 3,500 popular vocal and instrumental titles from the 1830s to the end of the century.
19th-Century California Sheet Music
sheet music published in California between 1852 and 1900, together with related materials such as a San Francisco publisher's catalog of 1872, programs, songsheets, advertisements, and photographs.
sheet music published in California between 1852 and 1900, together with related materials such as a San Francisco publisher's catalog of 1872, programs, songsheets, advertisements, and photographs.
Aaron Copland Collection
1920s through the 1950s, and were selected from Copland's music sketches, correspondence, writings, and photographs.
1920s through the 1950s, and were selected from Copland's music sketches, correspondence, writings, and photographs.
Abraham Lincoln Papers (Library of Congress)
Approximately 20,000 documents, which include correspondence with enclosures of newspaper clippings, drafts of speeches, notes, pamphlets, and other printed material by Lincoln, are available. Most of the material dates from the presidential years. Lincoln had a lively correspondence with many people in his day, so this is a rich resource. Each piece is scanned, with accompanying transcription. Searchable by keyword or just browse the collection.
Approximately 20,000 documents, which include correspondence with enclosures of newspaper clippings, drafts of speeches, notes, pamphlets, and other printed material by Lincoln, are available. Most of the material dates from the presidential years. Lincoln had a lively correspondence with many people in his day, so this is a rich resource. Each piece is scanned, with accompanying transcription. Searchable by keyword or just browse the collection.
Ad*Access
presents images and information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955.
presents images and information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955.
Address to Congress on the Yalta Conference (Franklin D. Roosevelt)
This detailed speech from March 1, 1945, provided Congress with an update post-Yalta Conference hearing.
This detailed speech from March 1, 1945, provided Congress with an update post-Yalta Conference hearing.
African Activist Archive Project
This resource is preserving and making available online the records of activism in the United States to support the struggles of African peoples against colonialism, apartheid, and social injustice from the 1950s through the 1990s.
This resource is preserving and making available online the records of activism in the United States to support the struggles of African peoples against colonialism, apartheid, and social injustice from the 1950s through the 1990s.
- growing online archive of historical materials - pamphlets, newsletters, leaflets, buttons, posters, T-shirts, photographs, and audio and video recordings
- personal remembrances and interviews with activists
- an international directory of collections deposited in libraries and archives
America's Founding Documents
These three documents, known collectively as the Charters of Freedom, have secured the rights of the American people for more than two and a quarter centuries and are considered instrumental to the founding and philosophy of the United States.
These three documents, known collectively as the Charters of Freedom, have secured the rights of the American people for more than two and a quarter centuries and are considered instrumental to the founding and philosophy of the United States.
American Archive of Public Broadcasting
American Archive of Public Broadcasting (AAPB) is a hub for publicly funded television and radio programs. More than 120 local broadcast stations and archives contribute metadata records and digitized media. By serving as a portal for public radio and television stations across the country, this resource supports “researching how national or even international topics have been covered in divergent localities over the past 60+ years.”
American Archive of Public Broadcasting (AAPB) is a hub for publicly funded television and radio programs. More than 120 local broadcast stations and archives contribute metadata records and digitized media. By serving as a portal for public radio and television stations across the country, this resource supports “researching how national or even international topics have been covered in divergent localities over the past 60+ years.”
American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library
Digital collection of pieces of history.
Digital collection of pieces of history.
American Revolution (NPS)
Available here are a timeline, revolutionary stories, biographies, and suggestions for further reading.
Available here are a timeline, revolutionary stories, biographies, and suggestions for further reading.
Antietam on the Web
This site looks at the crucial Battle of Sharpsburg (Antietam), highlighting generals and other officers, battle maps, and important background information. This site also includes the transcriptions of reports from the officers from both sides of the war, as well as excerpts from diaries and letters of some of the soldiers who survived.
This site looks at the crucial Battle of Sharpsburg (Antietam), highlighting generals and other officers, battle maps, and important background information. This site also includes the transcriptions of reports from the officers from both sides of the war, as well as excerpts from diaries and letters of some of the soldiers who survived.
ArchiveGrid
records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more.
records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more.
Artstor Public Collections
Artstor’s Public Collections offer approximately 1.3 million freely accessible images, videos, documents, and audio files from library special collections, faculty research, and institutional history materials, as well as hundreds of thousands of open access images from partner museums.
Artstor’s Public Collections offer approximately 1.3 million freely accessible images, videos, documents, and audio files from library special collections, faculty research, and institutional history materials, as well as hundreds of thousands of open access images from partner museums.
Artvee
Artvee is a collection of high-resolution downloads of classical paintings, vintage posters, and book and magazine covers from some of the world’s well known museums. Browse and download thousands of public domain works of art from over 40 institutions including The Met, New York Public Library, Art Institute of Chicago, Smithsonian, J. Paul Getty Museum, Library of Congress and Paris Musées. You can browse by category or by topic.
Artvee is a collection of high-resolution downloads of classical paintings, vintage posters, and book and magazine covers from some of the world’s well known museums. Browse and download thousands of public domain works of art from over 40 institutions including The Met, New York Public Library, Art Institute of Chicago, Smithsonian, J. Paul Getty Museum, Library of Congress and Paris Musées. You can browse by category or by topic.
Association for Cultural Equity Online Archive
Explore radio shows with Burl Ives, Woody Guthrie, or Folk Ballads and traditional music of the South and Southwest. Items documented by Alan Lomax or his father.
Explore radio shows with Burl Ives, Woody Guthrie, or Folk Ballads and traditional music of the South and Southwest. Items documented by Alan Lomax or his father.
Avalon Project Document Collections (Yale University)
The Avalon Project at Yale University provides a list of Document Collections which include the American Revolution, the Cold War, Nuremberg War Crimes Trial, Mexican and Cuban American Diplomacy and other collections related to US History and Politics.
The Avalon Project at Yale University provides a list of Document Collections which include the American Revolution, the Cold War, Nuremberg War Crimes Trial, Mexican and Cuban American Diplomacy and other collections related to US History and Politics.
Berlin Airlift (Harry S. Truman Presidential Library)
This specific collection on the Berlin Airlift is broken down monthly and covers the years 1948 to 1952. The website provides a mixture of supporting materials, including audio recordings and oral histories.
This specific collection on the Berlin Airlift is broken down monthly and covers the years 1948 to 1952. The website provides a mixture of supporting materials, including audio recordings and oral histories.
Berlin Blockade 1948-1949
This specialized section of the National Archives website supplies a copy of the Berlin Blockade map from the Office of Foreign Affairs, providing the outworkings of the Blockade.
This specialized section of the National Archives website supplies a copy of the Berlin Blockade map from the Office of Foreign Affairs, providing the outworkings of the Blockade.
Best Of History Websites
Best of History Web Sites aims to provide quick, convenient, and reliable access to the best history-oriented resources online in a wide range of categories. This resource "Contains annotated links to over 1200 history web sites as well as links to hundreds of quality K-12 history lesson plans, history teacher guides, maps, history activities, history games, history quizzes, and more."
Best of History Web Sites aims to provide quick, convenient, and reliable access to the best history-oriented resources online in a wide range of categories. This resource "Contains annotated links to over 1200 history web sites as well as links to hundreds of quality K-12 history lesson plans, history teacher guides, maps, history activities, history games, history quizzes, and more."
Bodleian Library Broadside Ballads
Printed cheaply on one side of a sheet of paper from the earliest days of printing, contain song-lyrics, tunes and woodcut illustrations and bear news, prophecies, histories, moral advice, religious warnings, political arguments, satire, comedy and bawdy tales.
Printed cheaply on one side of a sheet of paper from the earliest days of printing, contain song-lyrics, tunes and woodcut illustrations and bear news, prophecies, histories, moral advice, religious warnings, political arguments, satire, comedy and bawdy tales.
Bradshaw Foundation
The primary objective is to discover, document and preserve ancient rock art around the world, and promote the study of early mankind’s artistic achievements.
The primary objective is to discover, document and preserve ancient rock art around the world, and promote the study of early mankind’s artistic achievements.
California Gold: Northern California Folk Music from the Thirties
35 hours of folk music recorded in 12 languages representing numerous ethnic groups and 185 musician.
35 hours of folk music recorded in 12 languages representing numerous ethnic groups and 185 musician.
Campaign Atlases (US Military Academy)
Digital versions of atlas maps printed by the United States Defense Printing Agency. Begins with Ancient Warfare and continues through Iraq
Digital versions of atlas maps printed by the United States Defense Printing Agency. Begins with Ancient Warfare and continues through Iraq
Children in Progressive-Era America
Reformers during the Progressive Era-a period of social activism and political reform across the United States between the 1890s and 1920s—took a great interest in child welfare. Through organizations and legislation, they sought to define what a happy and healthy childhood should be in the modern age. Immersion in nature was central to what the Progressives prescribed, and children’s organizations and camps offered a suitable combination of supervision and open spaces. (DPLA)
Reformers during the Progressive Era-a period of social activism and political reform across the United States between the 1890s and 1920s—took a great interest in child welfare. Through organizations and legislation, they sought to define what a happy and healthy childhood should be in the modern age. Immersion in nature was central to what the Progressives prescribed, and children’s organizations and camps offered a suitable combination of supervision and open spaces. (DPLA)
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers (Library of Congress)
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
CIA World Factbook
the history, people and society, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
the history, people and society, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
CIA's Analysis of The Soviet Union, 1947-1991
Key documents from CIA’s files and the related declassification and release of a large amount of new material on CIA analysis of the USSR.
Key documents from CIA’s files and the related declassification and release of a large amount of new material on CIA analysis of the USSR.
Civil War Archive: Letters Home from the Civil War.
A collection of letters from both Union and Confederate soldiers, organized by name and regiment.
A collection of letters from both Union and Confederate soldiers, organized by name and regiment.
Civil War Diaries and Letters Collections (Auburn University)
A collection of diaries and letters from Auburn University, covering both sides of the war; each item is scanned and transcribed.
A collection of diaries and letters from Auburn University, covering both sides of the war; each item is scanned and transcribed.
Civil War Diaries and Letters.(University of Iowa)
Browse a list of scanned diaries and letters from the University of Iowa Libraries, some of which currently have transcriptions, but not all. You can also browse by year to get the materials for a particular time.
Browse a list of scanned diaries and letters from the University of Iowa Libraries, some of which currently have transcriptions, but not all. You can also browse by year to get the materials for a particular time.
Civil War Maps
This presentation contains approximately 2,240 Civil War maps and charts and 76 atlases and sketchbooks that are held within the Geography and Map Division, 200 maps from the Library of Virginia, and 400 maps from the Virginia Historical Society.
This presentation contains approximately 2,240 Civil War maps and charts and 76 atlases and sketchbooks that are held within the Geography and Map Division, 200 maps from the Library of Virginia, and 400 maps from the Virginia Historical Society.
Civil War on the Western Border: The Missouri-Kansas Conflict, 1855–1865
A collection of letters, photographs, and diary entries that document a lesser-known conflict of the time. The resources are scanned and transcribed. When possible, the letters also show connections to other related people and events. This site is a result of collaboration with Kansas City-area libraries, historical societies, and museums.
A collection of letters, photographs, and diary entries that document a lesser-known conflict of the time. The resources are scanned and transcribed. When possible, the letters also show connections to other related people and events. This site is a result of collaboration with Kansas City-area libraries, historical societies, and museums.
Clara Barton Papers
Philanthropist, nurse, educator, and lecturer. Correspondence, diaries, reports, legal and financial papers, organizational records, lectures, writings, scrapbooks, printed matter, memorabilia, and other papers relating to Barton's work to provide relief services during the Civil War and the Franco-Prussian War, the work of the American National Red Cross which she founded, and the National First Aid Association of America.
Philanthropist, nurse, educator, and lecturer. Correspondence, diaries, reports, legal and financial papers, organizational records, lectures, writings, scrapbooks, printed matter, memorabilia, and other papers relating to Barton's work to provide relief services during the Civil War and the Franco-Prussian War, the work of the American National Red Cross which she founded, and the National First Aid Association of America.
Cold War Intelligence
This collection of “2,360 formally classified United States government documents” provides both open and closed access focusing on the United States Intelligence Assembly.
This collection of “2,360 formally classified United States government documents” provides both open and closed access focusing on the United States Intelligence Assembly.
Cold War International History Project
This website provides full access to historical materials from all government-related agencies. The page entitled “Primary Sources on Cold War History” allows users to browse based on subject-related historiographical material, including the Sino Soviet agreements. The Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars provides the Cold War International History Project.
This website provides full access to historical materials from all government-related agencies. The page entitled “Primary Sources on Cold War History” allows users to browse based on subject-related historiographical material, including the Sino Soviet agreements. The Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars provides the Cold War International History Project.
Cold War Museum
This preservation website provides a vast timeline from the 1940s to 1990s concerning the Cold War. The 1940s-era section provides primary documents from the Czechoslovakia Cop, Marshall Plan, and additional related topics.
This preservation website provides a vast timeline from the 1940s to 1990s concerning the Cold War. The 1940s-era section provides primary documents from the Czechoslovakia Cop, Marshall Plan, and additional related topics.
Coming of the American Revolution (MA Historical Soc.)
Investigate the lives and events recorded in newspapers, official documents and personal correspondence and discover the fears, friction and turmoil that shaped the coming of the American Revolution.
Investigate the lives and events recorded in newspapers, official documents and personal correspondence and discover the fears, friction and turmoil that shaped the coming of the American Revolution.
Country Studies
description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of select countries throughout the world.
description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of select countries throughout the world.
CrashCourse
Crash Course offers more than 32 free courses on subjects including literature, philosophy, organic chemistry, world history, biology, theater, and ecology. Each topic comprises dozens of videos, delivered with a breezy tone that nonetheless dig deep into the specifics.
Crash Course offers more than 32 free courses on subjects including literature, philosophy, organic chemistry, world history, biology, theater, and ecology. Each topic comprises dozens of videos, delivered with a breezy tone that nonetheless dig deep into the specifics.
David Rumsey Map Collection Database
The collection includes rare 16th through 21st century maps of America, North America, South America, Europe, Asia, Africa, Pacific, Arctic, Antarctic, and the World. (Stanford University Library)
The collection includes rare 16th through 21st century maps of America, North America, South America, Europe, Asia, Africa, Pacific, Arctic, Antarctic, and the World. (Stanford University Library)
Documenting the American South
a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture.
a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture.
Dred Scott Case Files
St. Louis Circuit Court legal documents stored in the MSA relating to the Dred Scott freedom suit that led to the landmark U.S. Supreme Court decision.
St. Louis Circuit Court legal documents stored in the MSA relating to the Dred Scott freedom suit that led to the landmark U.S. Supreme Court decision.
Elektronische Zeitschriftenbibliothek - Frei zugangliche E-Journals
a service to facilitate the use of scholarly journals on the internet. It offers a fast, structured and unified interface to access full-text articles online.
a service to facilitate the use of scholarly journals on the internet. It offers a fast, structured and unified interface to access full-text articles online.
Feeding America project - Cookbooks (MSU)
Feeding America project has created an online collection of some of the most important and influential American cookbooks from the late 18th to early 20th century.
Feeding America project has created an online collection of some of the most important and influential American cookbooks from the late 18th to early 20th century.
Fiddle Tunes of the Old Frontier: The Henry Reed Collection
This source is music from the history of Virginia's Appalachian frontier.
This source is music from the history of Virginia's Appalachian frontier.
Finding Missouri: Our History and Heritage
The Missouri Heritage Project consists of 19 video units that explore the excitement and drama of Missouri History.
The Missouri Heritage Project consists of 19 video units that explore the excitement and drama of Missouri History.
First Person Narratives of the American South
Everyday people’s voices speak through their diaries, autobiographies, ex-slave accounts, and memoirs on this site, which is organized alphabetically or by subject.
Everyday people’s voices speak through their diaries, autobiographies, ex-slave accounts, and memoirs on this site, which is organized alphabetically or by subject.
Foreign Relations of the United States
This digital repository features the Foreign Relation of the United States.
This digital repository features the Foreign Relation of the United States.
Frederick Douglass Papers
A former slave and devout abolitionist, Douglass’s papers were digitized by the Library of Congress. They are searchable, and also can be browsed by date, and then narrowed by type, such as speeches or correspondence.
A former slave and devout abolitionist, Douglass’s papers were digitized by the Library of Congress. They are searchable, and also can be browsed by date, and then narrowed by type, such as speeches or correspondence.
G. Robert Vincent Voice Library (MSU)
This resource is a collection of over 100,000 hours of spoken word recordings, dating back to 1888. The collection includes the voices of over 500,000 persons from all walks of life. Political and cultural leaders and minor players in the human drama are captured and cataloged. See a listing of recordings available for online listening.
This resource is a collection of over 100,000 hours of spoken word recordings, dating back to 1888. The collection includes the voices of over 500,000 persons from all walks of life. Political and cultural leaders and minor players in the human drama are captured and cataloged. See a listing of recordings available for online listening.
Hanover Historical Texts Collection
The Hanover Historical Texts Collection makes available digital versions of historical texts for use in history and humanities courses.
The Hanover Historical Texts Collection makes available digital versions of historical texts for use in history and humanities courses.
Harry S. Truman Library Collection
Explore Truman Library online collections, official documents, photographs, oral histories and other resources.
Explore Truman Library online collections, official documents, photographs, oral histories and other resources.
Harvard Project on the Soviet Social System Online
The Social Systems Online program provides access to digital materials from the Harvard Soviet Social System. The repository contains more than “705 transcripts conducted from refugees from the USSR during the early years of the Cold War.”
The Social Systems Online program provides access to digital materials from the Harvard Soviet Social System. The repository contains more than “705 transcripts conducted from refugees from the USSR during the early years of the Cold War.”
History Matters: Making Sense of Evidence
Helps students and teachers make effective use of primary sources. “Making Sense of Documents” provide strategies for analyzing online primary materials, with interactive exercises and a guide to traditional and online sources. “Scholars in Action” segments show how scholars puzzle out the meaning of different kinds of primary sources, allowing you to try to make sense of a document yourself then providing audio clips in which leading scholars interpret the document and discuss strategies for overall analysis.
Helps students and teachers make effective use of primary sources. “Making Sense of Documents” provide strategies for analyzing online primary materials, with interactive exercises and a guide to traditional and online sources. “Scholars in Action” segments show how scholars puzzle out the meaning of different kinds of primary sources, allowing you to try to make sense of a document yourself then providing audio clips in which leading scholars interpret the document and discuss strategies for overall analysis.
History Net.com
The HistoryNet.com is a commercial production of the Weider History Group, which publishes history magazines. Their ten leading magazines provide the HistoryNet.com with a steady flow of high-quality editorial content and the authoritative input of editors who are among the leaders in their respective fields.
The HistoryNet.com is a commercial production of the Weider History Group, which publishes history magazines. Their ten leading magazines provide the HistoryNet.com with a steady flow of high-quality editorial content and the authoritative input of editors who are among the leaders in their respective fields.
Human Computers: The Early Women of NASA
These ground-breaking female mathematicians, engineers and scientists produced calculations crucial to the success of NASA's early space missions.
These ground-breaking female mathematicians, engineers and scientists produced calculations crucial to the success of NASA's early space missions.
Ideological Foundations of the Cold War–Harry S. Truman Presidential Library and Museum.
The focal point of the collection provides ideology based on U.S. policy towards the Soviet Union. The Ideological Foundation of the Cold War section provides imagery and oral histories to help inform users. The documentation spans from the years 1945 to 1952.
The focal point of the collection provides ideology based on U.S. policy towards the Soviet Union. The Ideological Foundation of the Cold War section provides imagery and oral histories to help inform users. The documentation spans from the years 1945 to 1952.
Jackson Davis Collection of African American Educational Photographser
Jackson Davis, an educational reformer and amateur photographer, took nearly 6,000 photographs of African American schools, teachers and students throughout the Southeastern United States. His photographs — most intended to demonstrate the wretched conditions of African American schools in the south and to show how they could be improved — provide a unique view of southern education during the first half of the twentieth century.
Jackson Davis, an educational reformer and amateur photographer, took nearly 6,000 photographs of African American schools, teachers and students throughout the Southeastern United States. His photographs — most intended to demonstrate the wretched conditions of African American schools in the south and to show how they could be improved — provide a unique view of southern education during the first half of the twentieth century.
Lester S. Levy Collection of Sheet Music
Music tied to history and the country's development demonstrated through popular music followed America's fortunes..
Music tied to history and the country's development demonstrated through popular music followed America's fortunes..
Lewis & Clark: The Maps of Exploration 1507-1814
Lewis and Clark: The Maps of Exploration 1507-1814 features the maps that Jefferson had owned and studied as he planned Lewis and Clark’s journey. This exhibition reflects a re-envisioning of the University of Virginia Library’s 1995 exhibition and catalogue Exploring the West from Monticello: A Perspective in Maps from Columbus to Lewis and Clark. (University of Virginia)
Lewis and Clark: The Maps of Exploration 1507-1814 features the maps that Jefferson had owned and studied as he planned Lewis and Clark’s journey. This exhibition reflects a re-envisioning of the University of Virginia Library’s 1995 exhibition and catalogue Exploring the West from Monticello: A Perspective in Maps from Columbus to Lewis and Clark. (University of Virginia)
LibreTexts Library (OER)
LibreTexts approach is highly collaborative where an Open Access textbook environment is under constant revision by students, faculty, and outside experts to supplant conventional paper-based books.
LibreTexts approach is highly collaborative where an Open Access textbook environment is under constant revision by students, faculty, and outside experts to supplant conventional paper-based books.
Luminarium: Anthology of English Literature
Intent is to have this encyclopedia become the Who's Who and What's What in Medieval and Renaissance England.
Intent is to have this encyclopedia become the Who's Who and What's What in Medieval and Renaissance England.
Making of America (MoA)
Making of America (MoA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology.
Making of America (MoA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology.
Making of America: Official Records of the Union and Confederate Navies
The Making of America site is an excellent source of primary documents, and this one features the orders, reports, and correspondence from the Union and Confederate navies. The scanned pages of the 30-volume set from the Government Printing Office are annotated and arranged chronologically. The collection is searchable. This is an essential resource for any study of naval operations in the war.
The Making of America site is an excellent source of primary documents, and this one features the orders, reports, and correspondence from the Union and Confederate navies. The scanned pages of the 30-volume set from the Government Printing Office are annotated and arranged chronologically. The collection is searchable. This is an essential resource for any study of naval operations in the war.
Manuscripts of the American Civil War (University of Notre Dame)
This special collection from the University of Notre Dame's Rare Books and Special Collections contains soldier’s diaries, which have been carefully scanned and transcribed. The soldiers represented are from both sides of the war. The diaries highlight their day-to-day experiences—from the mundane to the terrifying..
This special collection from the University of Notre Dame's Rare Books and Special Collections contains soldier’s diaries, which have been carefully scanned and transcribed. The soldiers represented are from both sides of the war. The diaries highlight their day-to-day experiences—from the mundane to the terrifying..
Maya Angelou-Interviewed by Bill Moyers
Bill Moyers interviews Maya Angelou, playwright, lecturer, director, singer, dancer, actress, editor and political activist. Angelou, author of I KNOW WHY THE CAGED BIRD SINGS, offers her perspective on Black and white in American culture.
Bill Moyers interviews Maya Angelou, playwright, lecturer, director, singer, dancer, actress, editor and political activist. Angelou, author of I KNOW WHY THE CAGED BIRD SINGS, offers her perspective on Black and white in American culture.
Meet the Framers of the Constitution
he original states, except Rhode Island, collectively appointed 70 individuals to the Constitutional Convention. A number of these individuals did not accept or could not attend includes Richard Henry Lee, Patrick Henry, Thomas Jefferson, John Adams, Samuel Adams and, John Hancock. In all, 55 delegates attended the Constitutional Convention sessions, but only 39 actually signed the Constitution. The delegates ranged in age from Jonathan Dayton, aged 26, to Benjamin Franklin, aged 81, who was so infirm that he had to be carried to sessions in a sedan chair.
he original states, except Rhode Island, collectively appointed 70 individuals to the Constitutional Convention. A number of these individuals did not accept or could not attend includes Richard Henry Lee, Patrick Henry, Thomas Jefferson, John Adams, Samuel Adams and, John Hancock. In all, 55 delegates attended the Constitutional Convention sessions, but only 39 actually signed the Constitution. The delegates ranged in age from Jonathan Dayton, aged 26, to Benjamin Franklin, aged 81, who was so infirm that he had to be carried to sessions in a sedan chair.
Missouri Digital Heritage
More than 9 million records can be accessed through Missouri Digital Heritage, including the collections of the Missouri State Archives, the Missouri State Library and other institutions from across the state.
More than 9 million records can be accessed through Missouri Digital Heritage, including the collections of the Missouri State Archives, the Missouri State Library and other institutions from across the state.
National Archives.gov
The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's largest preservation institute and repository of federal as well as regional and local historical documents. NARA's website, Archives.gov, is convenient, artistically designed, and updated on a near-daily basis. Its resources are a growing enterprise, with hundreds of thousands of archival images of historical documents, figures, and events.
The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's largest preservation institute and repository of federal as well as regional and local historical documents. NARA's website, Archives.gov, is convenient, artistically designed, and updated on a near-daily basis. Its resources are a growing enterprise, with hundreds of thousands of archival images of historical documents, figures, and events.
National Security Achieve–Debriefing Books
This collection encapsulates national security, foreign policy, military proceedings, and provides additional topics. The highlighted material includes The SOLO File: Declassified Documents Detailing the FBI’S Most Valued Secret Agents of the Cold War.
This collection encapsulates national security, foreign policy, military proceedings, and provides additional topics. The highlighted material includes The SOLO File: Declassified Documents Detailing the FBI’S Most Valued Secret Agents of the Cold War.
National Security Archive
The National Security Archive supplies a large quantity of Cold War primary source material accessible by country listing, including topics of the Soviet Estimate U.S. Analysis of the Soviet Union (1947–91).
The National Security Archive supplies a large quantity of Cold War primary source material accessible by country listing, including topics of the Soviet Estimate U.S. Analysis of the Soviet Union (1947–91).
North American Slave Narratives (University of North Carolina)
The University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill has a special collection dedicated to slave narratives. Not every manuscript is a primary document, but many are. Included on the site are narratives of fugitive and former slaves in published form from before 1920. For scholars interested in further study, a bibliography of slave and former-slave narratives by William L. Andrews is also included.
The University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill has a special collection dedicated to slave narratives. Not every manuscript is a primary document, but many are. Included on the site are narratives of fugitive and former slaves in published form from before 1920. For scholars interested in further study, a bibliography of slave and former-slave narratives by William L. Andrews is also included.
Origins of the Cold War
The Harry S. Truman Presidential Library and Museum allows users full access to original digital documentation, including the Containment and Marshall Plan with additional topographic information from the Truman Administration
The Harry S. Truman Presidential Library and Museum allows users full access to original digital documentation, including the Containment and Marshall Plan with additional topographic information from the Truman Administration
Papers of Jefferson Davis
A selection of documents from the published papers of the same name that includes speeches, reports, and correspondence. The documents are organized by volume with brief annotations.
A selection of documents from the published papers of the same name that includes speeches, reports, and correspondence. The documents are organized by volume with brief annotations.
Patriotic Melodies
Stories behind songs that have now become part of the American national heritage. A combination of hymns, national songs, music of the theater, radio, and television.
Stories behind songs that have now become part of the American national heritage. A combination of hymns, national songs, music of the theater, radio, and television.
PBS News Hour
The PBS NewsHour Collection includes nearly 15,000 episodes of PBS NewsHour’s predecessor programs from October 1975 to September 2019, including The Robert MacNeil Report (1975-1976), The MacNeil/Lehrer Report (1976 – 1983), The MacNeil/Lehrer NewsHour (1983 – 1995), The NewsHour with Jim Lehrer (1995 – 2009), and PBS NewsHour (2009 - 2019).
The PBS NewsHour Collection includes nearly 15,000 episodes of PBS NewsHour’s predecessor programs from October 1975 to September 2019, including The Robert MacNeil Report (1975-1976), The MacNeil/Lehrer Report (1976 – 1983), The MacNeil/Lehrer NewsHour (1983 – 1995), The NewsHour with Jim Lehrer (1995 – 2009), and PBS NewsHour (2009 - 2019).
Prelude to McCarthyism: The Making of a Blacklist
The National Archives provides original newspaper sources on the Attorney General’s List of Supervise Organization in connection with McCarthyism.
The National Archives provides original newspaper sources on the Attorney General’s List of Supervise Organization in connection with McCarthyism.
Primary Documents in American History from Library of Congress
The Library of Congress is home to many of the most important documents in American history. This Web site provides links to materials digitized from the collections of the Library of Congress that supplement and enhance the study of these crucial documents.
The Library of Congress is home to many of the most important documents in American history. This Web site provides links to materials digitized from the collections of the Library of Congress that supplement and enhance the study of these crucial documents.
Primary sources for History
This is a topical list of high-quality U.S. History websites focused on primary source collections from government agencies, universities, museums, libraries, and historical organizations.
This is a topical list of high-quality U.S. History websites focused on primary source collections from government agencies, universities, museums, libraries, and historical organizations.
Prisoners at Home: Everyday Life in Japanese Internment Camps
This exhibition tells stories of everyday lives in Japanese Internment camps during World War II.
This exhibition tells stories of everyday lives in Japanese Internment camps during World War II.
Research by Conflict and Time Period (US Army)
The U.S. Army Center of Military History provides the full text of online books related to Military conflicts.
The U.S. Army Center of Military History provides the full text of online books related to Military conflicts.
Richard S. Ellis Photographs
This collection of images represents photographs Ellis took of buildings and archaeological sites in Turkey, Iran, Iraq, Syria, Greece, Egypt, and Sudan.
This collection of images represents photographs Ellis took of buildings and archaeological sites in Turkey, Iran, Iraq, Syria, Greece, Egypt, and Sudan.
Scowcroft Documentary Series on Military History
A series of short documentary films designed to address timely, complex, or controversial topics in open-ended ways. This series relates to Military historical topics ex. Don't Ask, Don't Tell"
A series of short documentary films designed to address timely, complex, or controversial topics in open-ended ways. This series relates to Military historical topics ex. Don't Ask, Don't Tell"
Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers’ Project, 1936–1938.
Includes more than 2,300 first-person accounts, and more than 500 photographs. The narratives were collected in the 1930s by the Federal Writer’s Project and the Works Progress Administration, and put into a seventeen volume set.
Includes more than 2,300 first-person accounts, and more than 500 photographs. The narratives were collected in the 1930s by the Federal Writer’s Project and the Works Progress Administration, and put into a seventeen volume set.
Slavery and Abolition in the U.S.: Select Publications of the 1800s
Reflecting both sides of the slavery question, these publications from the 1800s include speeches, tracts, pamphlets, books, legal proceedings, religious sermons, and personal accounts. This collection from a cooperative project by Millersville University and Dickinson College includes more than 24,000 individual pages.
Reflecting both sides of the slavery question, these publications from the 1800s include speeches, tracts, pamphlets, books, legal proceedings, religious sermons, and personal accounts. This collection from a cooperative project by Millersville University and Dickinson College includes more than 24,000 individual pages.
Slaves and the Courts 1740–1860
From the Library of Congress’s American Memory Project this site consists of trials and cases, arguments, proceedings, and other historical works of importance that relate to the prosecution and defense of slavery as an institution. The collection contains more than 100 pamphlets and books published between 1772 and 1889.
From the Library of Congress’s American Memory Project this site consists of trials and cases, arguments, proceedings, and other historical works of importance that relate to the prosecution and defense of slavery as an institution. The collection contains more than 100 pamphlets and books published between 1772 and 1889.
Smithsonian National Museum of African American History & Culture
Search the museum's collection of close to 37,000 historical artifacts (primary materials and media)
Search the museum's collection of close to 37,000 historical artifacts (primary materials and media)
Smithsonian Open Access Images
Welcome to Smithsonian Open Access, where you can download, share, and reuse millions of the Smithsonian’s images—right now, without asking. With new platforms and tools, you have easier access to nearly 3 million 2D and 3D digital items from our collections—with many more to come. This includes images and data from across the Smithsonian’s 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo.
Welcome to Smithsonian Open Access, where you can download, share, and reuse millions of the Smithsonian’s images—right now, without asking. With new platforms and tools, you have easier access to nearly 3 million 2D and 3D digital items from our collections—with many more to come. This includes images and data from across the Smithsonian’s 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo.
South Carolina and the Civil War (University of South Carolina)
The site brings together primary sources by eyewitnesses from the holdings of the University of South Carolina. Included on the site are diaries, sheet music, maps, letters, and photographs. The collections are scanned and viewable, but with little transcription or description.
The site brings together primary sources by eyewitnesses from the holdings of the University of South Carolina. Included on the site are diaries, sheet music, maps, letters, and photographs. The collections are scanned and viewable, but with little transcription or description.
Spy Letters of the American Revolution (Univ. of Mich.)
A complex network of spies, double agents, and traitors emerged in an effort to learn the plans of the enemy before they were enacted. Many of the letters in this digital exhibit were pivotal to the success and failures of the American Revolution.
A complex network of spies, double agents, and traitors emerged in an effort to learn the plans of the enemy before they were enacted. Many of the letters in this digital exhibit were pivotal to the success and failures of the American Revolution.
The Civil War Collection (Michigan State University)
A huge online collection of scanned letters, newspaper articles, images, photographs, diaries, and much more, filled with the stories of Michigan soldiers.
A huge online collection of scanned letters, newspaper articles, images, photographs, diaries, and much more, filled with the stories of Michigan soldiers.
The Civil War Collection (Penn State)
Penn State has a rich digitized special collection. These include diaries, newspapers, and other ephemera. No transcriptions are available for the diaries, but the scanned pages are clean and easy to peruse.
Penn State has a rich digitized special collection. These include diaries, newspapers, and other ephemera. No transcriptions are available for the diaries, but the scanned pages are clean and easy to peruse.
The Civil War: Women and the Home-front. (Duke University)
Duke University has put together this study guide relating to women’s role during the war. Use the tab labeled “Primary Sources Online,” which includes digitized diaries and letters, as well as outside links to other institutions’ collections. The online papers include a collection from Rose O’Neal Greenhow, a famed Confederate spy. Other letters include those written by African American slaves, describing their living conditions in the South
Duke University has put together this study guide relating to women’s role during the war. Use the tab labeled “Primary Sources Online,” which includes digitized diaries and letters, as well as outside links to other institutions’ collections. The online papers include a collection from Rose O’Neal Greenhow, a famed Confederate spy. Other letters include those written by African American slaves, describing their living conditions in the South
The Life and Legacy of Rachel Carson
Rachel Carson (1907-1964) is remembered more today as the woman who challenged the notion that humans could obtain mastery over nature by chemicals, bombs and space travel than for her studies of ocean life. Her sensational book Silent Spring (1962) warned of the dangers to all natural systems from the misuse of chemical pesticides such as DDT, and questioned the scope and direction of modern science, initiated the contemporary environmental movement.
Rachel Carson (1907-1964) is remembered more today as the woman who challenged the notion that humans could obtain mastery over nature by chemicals, bombs and space travel than for her studies of ocean life. Her sensational book Silent Spring (1962) warned of the dangers to all natural systems from the misuse of chemical pesticides such as DDT, and questioned the scope and direction of modern science, initiated the contemporary environmental movement.
The Middle East, 1919-2001: A Documentary Record
An extensive historical and legal document collection for anyone interested in examining the Middle East through government documents, transcripts of governhment leaders' speeches, and UN resolutions.
An extensive historical and legal document collection for anyone interested in examining the Middle East through government documents, transcripts of governhment leaders' speeches, and UN resolutions.
The Proceedings of the Old Bailey, 1674-1913
Provides a searchable, digitized collection of over 100,000 trials at London's central criminal court during the period noted. To facilitate searching and compiling statistics, particular words and phrases, such as categories and types of crime and the gender of the defendants and victims, have been tagged.
Provides a searchable, digitized collection of over 100,000 trials at London's central criminal court during the period noted. To facilitate searching and compiling statistics, particular words and phrases, such as categories and types of crime and the gender of the defendants and victims, have been tagged.
The Wilson Center Digital Archives- Cold War Origins
This site dispenses a list of international relations documentation. A highlighted resource being the Molotov-Ribbentrop Pact (signed in 1939). The collection ranges from minute meetings to diary entries to military reports.
This site dispenses a list of international relations documentation. A highlighted resource being the Molotov-Ribbentrop Pact (signed in 1939). The collection ranges from minute meetings to diary entries to military reports.
Today in History
Information on events that have taken place on each day of the year. Not just a list of events for each day.
Information on events that have taken place on each day of the year. Not just a list of events for each day.
Ulysses S. Grant Presidential Library (Mississippi State University)
This site from Mississippi State University contains the first 31 volumes of The Papers of Ulysses S. Grant published by Southern Illinois University Press, and includes his military papers from the Civil War. Also included are photographs and prints from the life of Grant, including photographs from the war. The volumes are searchable as well as browsable.
This site from Mississippi State University contains the first 31 volumes of The Papers of Ulysses S. Grant published by Southern Illinois University Press, and includes his military papers from the Civil War. Also included are photographs and prints from the life of Grant, including photographs from the war. The volumes are searchable as well as browsable.
United States Treaties and Other International Agreements
United States Treaties and Other International Agreements
United States Treaties and Other International Agreements
Valley of the Shadow (University of Virginia)
Thousands of documents are accessible that compare life in two towns during the war: one in Virginia and one in Pennsylvania. These documents include letters, diaries, maps, newspaper accounts, and other sources.
Thousands of documents are accessible that compare life in two towns during the war: one in Virginia and one in Pennsylvania. These documents include letters, diaries, maps, newspaper accounts, and other sources.
Virginia Military Institute Archives
The Virginia Military Institute has a proud history of training its students to serve in the military service of the United States. The archives provide access to the full-text of more than 75 letters, diaries, manuscripts, and other ephemera of soldiers from both armies.
The Virginia Military Institute has a proud history of training its students to serve in the military service of the United States. The archives provide access to the full-text of more than 75 letters, diaries, manuscripts, and other ephemera of soldiers from both armies.
Wisconsin Goes to War: Our Civil War Experience (University of Wisconsin)
The University of Wisconsin is in the process of digitizing letters, diaries, poetry, and other writings from Wisconsin’s soldiers; approximately 630 pages to date, with an expected completion number to be more than 2,600 pages.
The University of Wisconsin is in the process of digitizing letters, diaries, poetry, and other writings from Wisconsin’s soldiers; approximately 630 pages to date, with an expected completion number to be more than 2,600 pages.
World War II Posters (Bucknell University)
Special Collections/University Archives' World War II poster collection to photograph, research, and describe individual posters that developed into an image collection.
Special Collections/University Archives' World War II poster collection to photograph, research, and describe individual posters that developed into an image collection.
A-Z List of Online Resources
Search all Resources with Discovery
Search Credo for Reference Books
Subject / Content Guides-A-Z
Additional Guides
Additional Topics of Interest
Westminster College
Contact Us
Off campus?
Choose your database,
Sign in with your library account!
Name and student ID + wc;
(example John Doe 392786wc)
Search all Resources with Discovery
Search Credo for Reference Books
Subject / Content Guides-A-Z
Additional Guides
Additional Topics of Interest
Westminster College
Contact Us
chat loading...
or text (877) 355-4542Off campus?
Choose your database,
Sign in with your library account!
Name and student ID + wc;
(example John Doe 392786wc)