Academic Search Ultimate 
This resource spans a broad range of academic subjects with thousands of full-text journals as well as abstracted and indexed journals.
This resource spans a broad range of academic subjects with thousands of full-text journals as well as abstracted and indexed journals.
Environment Complete
This resource contains more than 2.4 million records from more than 2,200 domestic and international titles going back to 1888 (including over 1,350 active core titles) as well as more than 190 monographs. The database also contains full text for more than 920 journals.
This resource contains more than 2.4 million records from more than 2,200 domestic and international titles going back to 1888 (including over 1,350 active core titles) as well as more than 190 monographs. The database also contains full text for more than 920 journals.
Science Reference Source
Comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content. Designed to meet every student's science research needs, Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Science Reference Center also satisfies the demand for standards-based content by providing teachers and librarians with articles correlated to state and national curriculum standards.
Comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content. Designed to meet every student's science research needs, Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Science Reference Center also satisfies the demand for standards-based content by providing teachers and librarians with articles correlated to state and national curriculum standards.
1300 Free Online Courses from Top Universities
Get 1,300 free online courses from the world's leading universities -- Stanford, Yale, MIT, Harvard, Berkeley, Oxford and more. Download these audio & video courses (often from iTunes, YouTube, or university web sites) straight to the computer or mp3 player. Over 45,000 hours of free audio & video lectures.
Get 1,300 free online courses from the world's leading universities -- Stanford, Yale, MIT, Harvard, Berkeley, Oxford and more. Download these audio & video courses (often from iTunes, YouTube, or university web sites) straight to the computer or mp3 player. Over 45,000 hours of free audio & video lectures.
AGRICOLA
Records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.
Records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.
Biology Dictionary
This biology dictionary contains all sorts of biology terms, principles, and life forms. Search by individual topic using the alphabetized menu, or search by field of study using the menu on the left.
This biology dictionary contains all sorts of biology terms, principles, and life forms. Search by individual topic using the alphabetized menu, or search by field of study using the menu on the left.
Biology Research Network
Biology is one of the most active, diverse, and fast-moving research fields in the world today. From planetary-scale analyses of ecosystems to molecular-level studies of genes, biology has an exceptionally broad scope. It can be challenging for researchers to keep up with ongoing developments. BioRN provides a platform for sharing and discovering a wide range of research topics within the biological sciences while also helping authors and researchers uncover connections between biology and other disciplines such as Law, Medicine and Philosophy. (SSRN)
Biology is one of the most active, diverse, and fast-moving research fields in the world today. From planetary-scale analyses of ecosystems to molecular-level studies of genes, biology has an exceptionally broad scope. It can be challenging for researchers to keep up with ongoing developments. BioRN provides a platform for sharing and discovering a wide range of research topics within the biological sciences while also helping authors and researchers uncover connections between biology and other disciplines such as Law, Medicine and Philosophy. (SSRN)
BMC-Journals
BMC has an evolving portfolio of some 300 open access peer-reviewed journals, sharing discoveries from research communities in science, technology, engineering and medicine.
BMC has an evolving portfolio of some 300 open access peer-reviewed journals, sharing discoveries from research communities in science, technology, engineering and medicine.
Case Study Website
It contains case studies for all disciplines (chemistry, genetics, environmental science) and is sponsored by the National Science Foundation.
It contains case studies for all disciplines (chemistry, genetics, environmental science) and is sponsored by the National Science Foundation.
CDC Centers for Disease, Control and Prevention
CDC is the nation’s leading science-based, data-driven, service organization that protects the public’s health.
CDC is the nation’s leading science-based, data-driven, service organization that protects the public’s health.
Cells Alive (Going Offline Jan. 2024) 
Film and computer-enhanced images of living cells and organisms for education and medical research. A wide range of subjects, including both live recording and computer animation on microbiological and immunological topics.
Film and computer-enhanced images of living cells and organisms for education and medical research. A wide range of subjects, including both live recording and computer animation on microbiological and immunological topics.
CrashCourse
Crash Course offers more than 32 free courses on subjects including literature, philosophy, organic chemistry, world history, biology, theater, and ecology. Each topic comprises dozens of videos, delivered with a breezy tone that nonetheless dig deep into the specifics.
Crash Course offers more than 32 free courses on subjects including literature, philosophy, organic chemistry, world history, biology, theater, and ecology. Each topic comprises dozens of videos, delivered with a breezy tone that nonetheless dig deep into the specifics.
Elektronische Zeitschriftenbibliothek - Frei zugangliche E-Journals
a service to facilitate the use of scholarly journals on the internet. It offers a fast, structured and unified interface to access full-text articles online.
a service to facilitate the use of scholarly journals on the internet. It offers a fast, structured and unified interface to access full-text articles online.
eMolecules
This resource is an open-access chemistry and biololgy search engine. Draw a molecule, write the formula for one and then save the resulting picture to your computer. Find what chemicals are part of what compounds.
This resource is an open-access chemistry and biololgy search engine. Draw a molecule, write the formula for one and then save the resulting picture to your computer. Find what chemicals are part of what compounds.
Images From the History of the Public Health Service
A Photographic Exhibit by Ramunas Kondratas, Ph.D., hosted by the National Library of Medicine.
A Photographic Exhibit by Ramunas Kondratas, Ph.D., hosted by the National Library of Medicine.
Kimball's Biology Pages
An online biology text book that has many wonderful reference source for biology students. Excellent for learning basics and expanding knowledge on many questions. News and background concerning the latest in biological areas. Having trouble with a biology topic, here is the place to get some fuller background.
An online biology text book that has many wonderful reference source for biology students. Excellent for learning basics and expanding knowledge on many questions. News and background concerning the latest in biological areas. Having trouble with a biology topic, here is the place to get some fuller background.
National Academy Press Digital Library
Publishes the reports of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
Publishes the reports of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
National Science Foundation Awards Database
is an independent federal agency created by Congress in 1950 "to promote the progress of science; to advance the national health, prosperity, and welfare.
is an independent federal agency created by Congress in 1950 "to promote the progress of science; to advance the national health, prosperity, and welfare.
On-Line Biology Book
The text items are modified lecture outlines I have developed over the many years of teaching college-level introductory biology. Use of my text for educational purposes is encouraged and appreciated, however many illustrations are taken off the web, and I have indicated the source page (when that page still is an active link) and tried to provide a link back to the original.
The text items are modified lecture outlines I have developed over the many years of teaching college-level introductory biology. Use of my text for educational purposes is encouraged and appreciated, however many illustrations are taken off the web, and I have indicated the source page (when that page still is an active link) and tried to provide a link back to the original.
PubMed - US National Library of Medicine, NIH
A division of the U.S. National Library of Medicine, provides access to scientific and biomedical databases including over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to full-text articles and other related resources., software tools for analyzing molecular data, and performs research in computational biology.
A division of the U.S. National Library of Medicine, provides access to scientific and biomedical databases including over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to full-text articles and other related resources., software tools for analyzing molecular data, and performs research in computational biology.
Scientific lectures 
Each series contains full-length lectures on a specific topic given by top scientists working at the cutting edge of scientific research. The lectures include graphics and animations to help engage students and explain difficult scientific concepts.
Each series contains full-length lectures on a specific topic given by top scientists working at the cutting edge of scientific research. The lectures include graphics and animations to help engage students and explain difficult scientific concepts.
Scientific Research Journals
An academic publisher of open access journals. It also publishes academic books and conference proceedings. SCIRP currently has more than 200 open access journals in the areas of science, technology and medicine.
An academic publisher of open access journals. It also publishes academic books and conference proceedings. SCIRP currently has more than 200 open access journals in the areas of science, technology and medicine.
The Life and Legacy of Rachel Carson
Rachel Carson (1907-1964) is remembered more today as the woman who challenged the notion that humans could obtain mastery over nature by chemicals, bombs and space travel than for her studies of ocean life. Her sensational book Silent Spring (1962) warned of the dangers to all natural systems from the misuse of chemical pesticides such as DDT, and questioned the scope and direction of modern science, initiated the contemporary environmental movement.
Rachel Carson (1907-1964) is remembered more today as the woman who challenged the notion that humans could obtain mastery over nature by chemicals, bombs and space travel than for her studies of ocean life. Her sensational book Silent Spring (1962) warned of the dangers to all natural systems from the misuse of chemical pesticides such as DDT, and questioned the scope and direction of modern science, initiated the contemporary environmental movement.
Tree of Life
This resource is a collaborative effort of biologists from around the world to provide information about the diversity of organisms on Earth, their evolutionary history, and characteristics. Experience interactive web-based language learning featuring speech recognition as well as cultural activities.
This resource is a collaborative effort of biologists from around the world to provide information about the diversity of organisms on Earth, their evolutionary history, and characteristics. Experience interactive web-based language learning featuring speech recognition as well as cultural activities.
A-Z List of Online Resources
Search all Resources with Discovery
Search Credo for Reference Books
Subject / Content Guides-A-Z
Additional Guides
Additional Topics of Interest
Westminster College
Contact Us
Off campus?
Choose your database,
Sign in with your email account
and campus password.
Search all Resources with Discovery
Search Credo for Reference Books
Subject / Content Guides-A-Z
Additional Guides
Additional Topics of Interest
Westminster College
Contact Us
chat loading...
or text (877) 355-4542Off campus?
Choose your database,
Sign in with your email account
and campus password.